Kahiau: A Tennis Foundation

» Hall of Fame

2014 Tennis Hall of Fame

The 2014 USTA Hawaii Pacific Section Annual Awards Banquet proved successful and remains to be a huge value to the tennis community in recognizing those who have had large impacts on Hawaii tennis. It was a pleasant evening that involved some of the who's who of tennis as well as many new faces. The event, which took place at the Ala Moana Hotel, honored 17 recipients throughout the night. The three most notable awards were the Tennis Hall of Fame awards, which inducted three more recipients into the USTA Hawaii Pacific Tennis Hall of Fame. The Service Award, given to Masu Kusume Dyer, honors a volunteer, official, coach or individual who has made outstanding contributions through tennis. The Player Award, given to Jean Okada, commemorates an individual who is recognized for outstanding competitive achievements with considerations of sportsmanship and character. Finally, the Education Award, given to Dr. David Porter, is presented to an individual who has demonstraded leadership and creative skills in such areas as instruction, writing, organization, coaching, and promotion of the game of tennis. Below, you will find our recipient induction videos. For a full photo gallery of the event, please click here.


Masu Kusume Dyer | Service Award

Jean Okada | Player Award

Dr. David Porter | Education Award