Kahiau: A Tennis Foundation

» Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame 2015


November 21, 2015 Honolulu, HI- The 2015 USTA Hawaii Pacific Section Annual Awards Banquet proved successful and remains to be a huge value to the tennis community in recognizing those who have had large impacts on Hawaii tennis. It was a pleasant evening that involved some of the iconic figures in tennis as well as many new faces. The event, which took place at the Ala Moana Hotel, honored 15 recipients throughout the night. The two most notable awards were the Tennis Hall of Fame awards, which inducted two more recipients into the USTA Hawaii Pacific Tennis Hall of Fame. The Player Award, given to Lurline Fujii, commemorates an individual who is recognized for outstanding competitive achievements with considerations of sportsmanship and character. The Education Award, given to Peter Burwash, is presented to an individual who has demonstrated leadership and creative skills in such areas as instruction, writing, organization, coaching, and promotion of the game of tennis. Below, you will find our recipient induction videos. For photos from the event, Click Here


Lurline Fujii |  Player Award


Peter Burwash |  Education Award


2015 USTA Hawaii Pacific Section Awards
Family of the Year  |  Gerald and Diane Kosaki (Kayla, Kyle, and Kobi)
Organization of the Year  |  South Maui Tennis Club
Facility of the Year  |  Holua Tennis Center
Special Service  |  Ted Gee
Jim Howe Sportsmanship, Girl  |  Diana Wong
Jim Howe Sportsmanship, Boy  |  Jeffery Liang
Special Friend  |  Honolulu Tennis League
President’s Award  |  Faye Kim
District Service Awards

Oahu  |  Vicky Chee
Maui  |  Lee Killett
Kauai  |  Ernie Blacowiak
East Hawaii  |  Nancy Kelly
West Hawaii  |  Nick Yamasaki


For photos from the event, Click Here