Kahiau: A Tennis Foundation

» News

2013 Annual and Tennis Hall of Fame Award Winners




Outstanding tennis players and community partners awarded

HONOLULU, HAWAII, August 27, 2013 – The United States Tennis Association (USTA) Hawaii Pacific Section and Kahiau:  A Tennis Foundation announce the 2013 Annual Award and Tennis Hall of Fame recipients.  These individuals have been nominated by fellow tennis enthusiasts, team players and community leaders and will be awarded at the 2013 Annual Awards Banquet on November 23, 2013 at the Ala Moana Hotel in Honolulu, Hawaii.

The Nominating Committee led by Russell Lum, President with fellow committee members of Walter Wong, Kevin Inn, Donna Ede, Betsy Purpura present the following award winners:
Jim Howe Sportsmanship Girl Award   
Lani Rae Green
Jim Howe Sportsmanship Boy Award  
Kawika Lam
Family of the Year Award The Osborne Family
James & Muriel Osborne
Jim Osborne, Carol Surratt, Diane Treskin
Organization Member of the Year Award
The City & County of Honolulu
Facility of the Year Award
Punahou School
Special Service Award
Leonard Loventhal
President’s Award Henry Somerville
Maui District Tennis Association Service Award Chris Scharein
Oahu District Tennis Association Service Award Renee Michioka
Kauai District Tennis Association Service Award Helen Young
East Hawaii District Tennis Association Service Award Andrea Ueno
West Hawaii District Tennis Association Service Award Lovette & Errol Llantos

The Kahiau: A Tennis Foundation is responsible for establishing the criteria and handling the selection of inductees to the highly-esteemed USTA Hawaii Pacific Section Tennis Hall of Fame.  The Service Award honors a volunteer, official, coach or individual who has made outstanding contributions to tennis.  The Player Award commemorates an individual who is recognized for outstanding competitive achievements with considerations of sportsmanship and character.  This year’s Hall of Fame inductees are:
2013 Hall of Fame Service Award Sam Caldwell
2013 Hall of Fame Player Award Jane Hirota Pang

 The 2013 Annual Awards Banquet will take place on November 23, 2013 at 5:30pm at the Ala Moana Hotel in Honolulu, Hawaii.  The event will have special entertainment by Jeff Peterson - Slack Key Guitarist, a silent auction, the Tennis Hall of Fame inductions and the Annual Awards presentations.  Tickets are $45 per ticket and can be purchased at

The USTA Hawaii Pacific Section (USTA HPS) one of the 17 geographic Sections within the USTA organizations.  Incorporated in 1973, the Hawaii Pacific Section embraces over 7,800 individual members and 109 organizational members in Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam and Northern Marianas.  In addition, the Hawaii Pacific Section is further subdivided into five districts:  Kauai, Oahu, Maui, East Hawaii & West Hawaii.  The Hawaii Pacific Section is a volunteer-based organization dedicated to carrying out the goals of the national association within its region, particularly with respect to promoting tennis opportunities for juniors and adults of all abilities and all cultural backgrounds. For more information on the USTA Hawaii Pacific please visit, or

Kahiau: A Tennis Foundation, a 501(c) (3) non-profit organization, was originally founded in 1966 as the Hawaii Tennis Patrons Association with the purpose of supporting youth tennis in Hawaii. In 2005, Kahiau became a partner and the fundraising arm of the United States Tennis Association Hawaii Pacific Section and expanded its purpose to promote the growth of tennis in Hawaii to youth, adults and special populations.  Kahiau:  A Tennis Foundation’s charitable services provides the opportunity for individuals/organizations to be considered for funding for tennis scholarships and programs.  For more information on Kahiau: A Tennis Foundation please visit, or